Canadian Members of the FHS Board of Directors

The Forest History Society is governed by a dynamic board of directors that provides direction for the president and staff. Many Canadians have served on our board, providing an important international perspective to the operation and mission of the Society.

Current Board Members

  • Yvan Hardy (Canadian Forest Service, Ottawa, ON)
  • Kenneth O. Higginbotham (Canfor Corporation)


Past Board Members

  • Mike Apsey (Forcast, Vancouver, BC)
  • Paul Bienvenu (Howard-Bienvenu, Inc.)
  • Thomas A. Buell (Weldwood of Canada)
  • Pit U. Desjardins (Weldwood of Canada, Inc.)
  • Harold S. Foley (MacMillan, Bleodel and Powell River Ltd.)
  • Charles H. Geale (Tree Canada Foundation, Ottawa, ON)
  • R. Peter Gillis (Treasury Board of Canada)
  • Lorne Hammond (Royal British Columbia Museum, Victoria, BC)
  • D. A. S. Lanskail (Council of Forest Industries of British Columbia)
  • H. R. MacMillan (MacMillan Bloedel Ltd.); past Vice-President of FHS Board
  • M. Patricia Marchak (University of British Columbia)
  • Jean Claude Mercier (Forintek Canada Corporation)
  • Peter J. Murphy (retired, St. Albert, AB; past President of FHS Board)
  • David Oxley (Rothesay, NB)
  • H. K. Williams (MacMillan Bloedel Ltd.)
  • Graeme Wynn (University of British Columbia)
  • Adam H. Zimmerman (Noranda Forest, Inc.)