## National Forest Reservation Commission Members 1911-1966

	C	abinet Memb	ers				
Fiscal	Secretary	Secretary	Secretary	Senators		Representatives	
Year	of	of the	of				
	War	Interior	Agriculture		1		
1911	Henry	Walter	James	John	Jacob H.	Gordon Lee	Willis C.
1912	Stimson	Fisher	Wilson	Walter	Gallinger		Hawley
1913	Lindley	Franklin	David	Smith			
1914	Garrison	Lane	Houston				
1915							
1916	Newton						
1917	Baker						
1918					Peter J.		
1919					Gerry		
1920		John B.	E.T.				
1001	7 1 TY	Payne	Meredith	T 1 T7			
1921	John W.	Albert B.	Henry C.	John K.	Henry W.		
1922	Weeks	Fall	Wallace	Shields	Keyes		
1923		Hubert					
1924	D : 1.	Work	*******	T 0	-		
1925	Dwight		William	Lee S.			
1926	Davis		Jardine	Overman		0 D	
1927 1928		Don Wood	<u> </u>			Sam D.	
1928	James	Roy West	Arthur Hyde	William	1	McReynolds James B.	
1929	Good	Ray L. Wilbur	Arthur Hyde	William Harris		Aswell	
1930	Patrick	Wildui		Hailis		Aswell	
1931	Hurley					Wall Doxey	
1932	riuricy			Walter F.	-	Wall Doxcy	
1933	George	Harold	Henry A.	George			John D.
1500	Dern	Ickes	Wallace	deorge			Clark
1934	Bom	101100	Wallace				Roy
1935							Woodruff
1936							
1937	Henry				Styles		
1938	Woodring				Bridges		
1939	J						
1940	Henry L.		Claude				
1941	Stimson		Wickard				
1942						William	
1943	1					Colmer	
1944							
1945	Robert		Clinton				
1946	Patterson	Julius	Anderson				
1947		Krug					
1948	Kenneth	]					
	Royall						

Fiscal	Cabinet Members			Senators		Representatives	
Year	Secretary of the Army	Secretary of the Interior	Secretary of Agriculture	Schators			
1949	Gordon Gray	Julius Krug	Charles Brannan	Walter George	Styles Bridges	William Colmer	Roy Woodruff
1950	Frank	Oscar	Diaman	deorge	Dilages	Conner	Woodran
1951	Pace, Jr.	Chapman					Wesley
1952		<b>P</b>					D'Ewart
1953	Robert	Douglas	Ezra Taft	John C.			
1954	Stevens	McKay	Benson	Stennis			
1955							Sam Coon
1956	Wilbur	Fred					
1957	Brucker	Seaton					Hamer
1958							Budge
1959					Francis		
1960				_	Case		
1961	Elvis Stahr,	Stewart	Orville				Jack
	Jr.	Udall	Freeman				Westland
1962	Cyrus						
1963	Vance				George D.		
1964	Stephen				Aiken*		
	Ailes						
1965	Stanley						
1966	Resor						John P. Saylor*

<sup>\*</sup> The U.S. Forest Service Headquarters History Collection is missing the reports from the National Forest Reservation Commission between 1961 and 1967. Aiken and Saylor are listed as members in the report published July 17, 1967. Since Francis Case died in office in 1962, I'm assuming Aiken was his immediate replacement. Jack Westland served in the House of Representatives until 1965. (He lost his reelection bid in 1964.)

## Sources:

Annual Report of the National Forest Reservation Commission for the Year Ended June 30, 1966. (Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1967.)

The National Forest Reservation Commission: A Report on Progress in Establishing National Forests, Published on the Occasion of the 50<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of the Weeks Law, 1961. (USDA Forest Service).

Biographical Directory of the United States Congress: <a href="http://bioguide.congress.gov/">http://bioguide.congress.gov/</a> [June 20, 2002]

Bell, William Gardner. Secretaries of War and Secretaries of the Army: Portraits and Biographical Sketches. http://www.army.mil/cmh-pg/books/Sw-SA/SWSA-Fm.htm [June 20, 2002]

## Compiled by:

Carol Severance, historian, USDA Forest Service