AWARDS AND FELLOWSHIPS

orest History Society awards and fellowships are fully supported by endowment. The awards program enables the Society to recognize research and writing in forest and conservation history and stimulate further research into our understanding of the relationships between people and forests. High standards for selection reflect equally upon the recipient and the Society. Following is a list of awards for 2006.

LEOPOLD-HIDY AWARD

The Aldo Leopold–Ralph W. Hidy Award recognizes superior scholarship in the journal Environmental History, published jointly by the Forest History Society and the American Society for Environmental History. The winner is selected by members of the journal's editorial board. The 2006 recipient is **Gregg Mitman** for the essay, "In Search of Health: Landscape and Disease in American Environmental History," which appeared in the April 2005 issue of Environmental History. Using Aldo Leopold's concept of "land health" as an overarching metaphor, Mitman does a splendid job integrating the seemingly divergent topics of medicine and conservation. He notes: "Health acquires meaning only by virtue of the relationships between and among living organisms be they the cells of the human body or the species of a biotic community—and their environments In cutting across the categories of the human and non-human, health offers a useful means for rethinking nature and how we come to know the natural world." The essay challenges environmental historians to expand their conceptions of the scope of the field, while providing an excellent synthesis of the historiography of the intersection of the body and landscapes. Of all the articles, this one is most valuable for opening up vistas toward new areas of study."

THEODORE C. BLEGEN AWARD

Annually, the Theodore C. Blegen Award recognizes the best article in forest and conservation history published in any journal except *Environmental History*. It is selected by an independent group of judges that consider such items as contribution to

knowledge, strength of scholarship, and clarity and grace of presentation. The 2006 recipient of the Blegen Award is Mark Feige for "The Weedy West: Mobile Nature, Boundaries, and Common Space in the Montana Landscape," published in the Western Historical Quarterly (Spring 2005). Fiege challenges us to look more closely at the ticklish relationship between nature and property, especially those complications imposed by aspects of nature which are mobile and therefore "uncontainable": weeds in his case study but, by extension, insects, rodents, predators, fire, and water. Through a gracefully written, thoroughly researched analysis, Fiege offers a model for future investigators studying the interplay of ecological systems and cultural/legal systems.

JOHN M. COLLIER JOURNALISM AWARD

The John M. Collier Journalism Award recognizes a journalist interested and published in forest and conservation history working in newspapers, trade press, general circulation magazines, or other media. The award is made in collaboration with the Institutes for Journalism in Natural Resources (IJNR). The 2006 Collier Award was awarded to Michelle Nijhuis, a contributing editor of the environmental journal High Country News and a correspondent for Orion. Her work has appeared in publications including Smithsonian, Salon.com, The Christian Science Monitor, The San Francisco Chronicle, Mother Iones, Sierra, Audubon, and the anthology Best American Science Writing. Michelle attended the 2005 Wind River Institute in western Wyoming and visited the Forest History Society in November 2006.

CHARLES A. WEYERHAEUSER BOOK AWARD

The Charles A. Weyerhaeuser Book Award rewards superior scholarship in forest and conservation history. Awarded biennially prior to 2004, this annual award goes to an author who has exhibited fresh insight into a topic and whose narrative analysis is clear, inventive, and thought-provoking. The 2006 recipient is **Mark Harvey** for *Wilderness Forever: Howard Zahniser and the*

Path to the Wilderness Act (University of Washington Press, 2005). This is a skillfully crafted biography that highlights Zahniser's central importance to the wilderness campaigns of the 1950s and 1960s, and it shows how significant his early life was in forging this role. In one individual, it encapsulates the maturation of wilderness ideology and indeed the broader environmental philosophy that brought the wilderness campaign to successful conclusion in the mid-1960s. As a biography it is both appealing and analytical, in that it captures Zahniser's zest for life and situates him in the emerging environmental movement.

F.K WEYERHAEUSER FOREST HISTORY FELLOWSHIP

The F.K Weyerhaeuser Forest History Fellowship is awarded annually to a student at the FHS university affiliate, Duke University, whose research is historical in nature and related to forestry, land use, or the environment. Criteria include overall significance and quality of presentation. The 2006 recipient is Jason A. Jackson, a Ph.D. student investigating "Fungal Succession: A History of Fungal Communities and Land Use Change." One reviewer wrote, "This sophisticated piece of science and history comes the closest to integrating what I think of as the objectives of the Weyerhaeuser Fellowship. Jackson nicely proposes to integrate forestry, history, and ecology, making this an exceptionally worthwhile project."

ALFRED BELL TRAVEL GRANTS

Alfred D. Bell, Jr. travel grants are awarded to enable researchers to use the FHS library and archives. Recent Bell Fellows include:

Joseph Jones, Ph.D. student in American Studies, Michigan State University, researched the political, social, and economic history of the cutover region of Michigan from 1890–1940.

Brett Adams, a Ph.D. student in history from the University of Oklahoma, researched the changes in the Ouachita Mountains of southwestern Arkansas during the Progressive Era and the establishment of the Arkansas National Forest. □