Home Contact Us

Forest History Society Fellowships & Awards

The endowed award and fellowship programs described below enable the Forest History Society (FHS) to recognize scholarly achievement and service to the organization and the community at large. The maintenance of high selection standards reflects equally on the Society and the recipients.

FHS congratulates past recipients and encourages students, researchers, and writers to pursue potential award-winning projects relating to the historical study of human interaction with forests, natural resources, and the environment.


Leopold-Hidy Award
Given annually to the author of the best article in the journal Environmental History.

Theodore C. Blegen Award
Presented annually to the author of the best article published in a journal other than Environmental History.

Charles A. Weyerhaeuser Award
Awarded annually to the author of the best book on forest and conservation history.

John M. Collier Award
Given annually to a journalist to foster the best journalism in forest and conservation history.


Alfred D. Bell, Jr., Travel Grants
Provides reimbursement of travel expenses up to $950.00 incurred by researchers studying at the Society's library and archives.

Walter S. Rosenberry Graduate Fellowship in Forest and Conservation History
Provides a stipend to support the doctoral research of a graduate student attending a university in North America whose research contributes to forest and conservation history.

Frederick K. Weyerhaeuser Forest History Fellowship
Presented annually to a Duke University graduate student whose research in some way incorporates forest or conservation history.

FHS Fellows

Fellows of the Forest History Society
Elected from time to time by the FHS Board of Directors to recognize outstanding scholarship or service to the Forest History Society.